Home:Zoo:Mammals:Meat-Eaters:The Hyena Family

Quick Facts
Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Chordata
Class: Mammalia
Order: Carnivora
Family: Hyaenidae

Sponsored Links

Family Hyaenidae

Spotted Hyena

The Hyaenidae family contains four species. Three of these species, the hyenas, hunt and scavenge large vertebrates. The fourth species, the aardwolf, subsists on termites. Members of this family usually have bushy tails, rounded ears, and three of the four species have spots or stripes (the brown hyena is the exception.) The most striking feature in members of this family is the difference between their long front limbs and shorter hind limbs. This gives them a noticeable slope in their stance. The jaws of the three hyena species are massive with strong teeth. The aardwolf has sharp canines and incisorsWhat does incisors mean? but its back teeth are reduced in size. Members of this family are very adaptable and survive in areas of high human habitation.
Animal Links
Most Popular

1. Spotted Hyena
Related Products

Animal Toys



All Products By Animal

Apparel & Accessories

For the Home


School Supplies

Party Supplies

© 2018 theBIGzoo
13921 Highway 105 W #AA45, Conroe TX 77304