Home:Zoo:Mammals:Sea Cows & Manatees

Quick Facts
Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Chordata
Class: Mammalia
Order: Sirenia

Sponsored Links

Order Sirenia

Manatees (1)

The Sirenia order consists of four species in two families, manatees and dugongs. They are also known as sea cows. Members of this order live their entire lives in the water and live primarily on vegetation. They are fairly large, seal-like creatures with a streamlined shape. They are nearly hairless and have not eyelids. A sphincter type muscle closes their eyes. They have large, mobile lips and nostrils at the top of their snouts. A fifth species, the stellar sea cow, was hunted to extinction soon after its discovery in the 1700s. It was a massive creature and fed exclusively on seaweed.
Animal Links
Most Popular

1. West Indian Manatee
Related Products

Animal Toys



All Products By Animal

Apparel & Accessories

For the Home


School Supplies

Party Supplies

© 2018 theBIGzoo
13921 Highway 105 W #AA45, Conroe TX 77304